Susan k. Chen Memorial Foundation for Music Education

《Bach in Italy》–Italian Historical Organ Maestro-Lorenzo Ghielmi Organ Recital in Pingtung

Lorenzo Ghielmi has devoted himself for years to the study and performance of Renaissance and Baroque music. He is one of the most successful interpreters of Bach’s organ and harpsichord work.

He gives concerts all over Europe, Russia, Japan, Korea and the Americas and has made numerous radio recordings and for an extensive discography (Passacaille, Winter & Winter, Harmonia mundi, Teldec).

He has published a book on Nicolaus Bruhns, papers and studies on organ-building of the sixteenth and seventeenth century, on the interpretation of the works of Bach and other composers of the Baroque period.

He teaches organ, harpsichord and ensemble music at the Civica Scuola di Musica di Milano. From 2006 to 2015 he has been Professor of Organ at the Schola Cantorum in Basel.

He is the titular organist of the Ahrend organ of the Milanese basilica of San Simpliciano, where he performed the complete organ work by J.S. Bach.

He is part of the jury of numerous international organ competitions and is entrusted with lectures and masterclasses from important musical institutions.

He has also supervised the construction of several new organs, including the great instrument of the Tokyo Cathedral.

In 1985 he was among the founders of the Giardino Armonico. In 2005 he started the ensemble La Divina Armonia, with which he has given concerts at many European and Japanese festivals.

First half:
1. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
Praeludium et fuga a minor BWV 543
2. Aria variata alla maniera italiana BWV 989
3. Bernardo Pasquini (1637 – 1710)
Toccata con lo scherzo del cucco
4. Domenico Zipoli (1688-1726) All’ Elevazione
5. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Concerto in d minor (nach Vivaldi) BWV 596
Allegro, Grave, Fuga – Largo e spiccato – Allegro


Second half:
6. Padre Davide da Bergamo ( 1791 – 1863 ) Elevazione
7. Padre Giovanni Battista Martini (1706-1784) Aria
8. Francesco Almasio (1806-1871) Consumazione
9. Johann Sebastian Bach: Toccata, Adagio & Fuga in C major BWV 564

2 Encores:
Giuseppe Gonelli (1685–1745) : Sonata
J.S Bach (1685-1750): Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 731