Susan k. Chen Memorial Foundation for Music Education


Pingtung Performing Arts Center🧬Ticket information

Performance time and location:
● Performance: Sep 24, 2023 (Sun) 14:30
● Venue: Pingtung Performing Arts Center
● Ticket:
● Performer::Organ / Grace Eunhye Oh

Grace EunHye Oh has been performing and teaching internationally. Recent major invitations include festivals and solo recitals in Russia, Italy, Germany, Luxembourg, Japan, Korea, as well as Notre-Dame in Paris, France.

She obtained a Bachelor’s degree at Keimyung University in Korea where she graduated at the top of the entire music department. She studied at Westminster Choir College where she received the Master’s degree with Distinction. At Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University, she earned the Graduate Performance Degree while also studying composition with Judah Adashi and piano with Marian Hahn. While completing Konzertexamen at Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf, Germany, she was granted Deutschlandstipendium (German government scholarship) three times and unanimously graduated with two highest Distinctions which was the best result ever possible.

In addition to winning the first prize in National Organ Competition in Korea, Bach Inaugural Organ Competition in USA, Joseph Gabler International Organ Competition in Germany, and L. Folcioni International Organ Competition in Italy, she was also awarded 2nd Place and Special Prize in the International Baroque Competition in München, Germany.

She is a member of Chun University’s faculty and American Guild of Organists in Washington DC/Annapolis chapter. Also, she is an organist at a historical First Presbyterian Church in the heart of the beautiful harbor city Annapolis, Maryland.

Grace EunHye Oh is going to performDanse Macabre by Camille Saint-Saëns, Trois Danses and Litanies by Jehan Alain,Prélude et fugue sur le nom d’Alain by Maurice Duruflé,Anton Heiller’s Tanz-ToccataandDance of the Sugar Plum Fairy by Tchaikovsky.

During the short life of 29 years, Jehan Alain lost his sister due to an accident. He lost his friends in the Second World War. And his life was tragically cut short in the beginning of the Second World War.

Trois Dansehas three movements titled joy, mourning and struggles. The second movement of the Trois danses, “Mourning”, is dedicated to his deceased sister, as a “funeral Dance of a Heroic Memory.” It is a dance that transcends sadness, loss, struggles and death.

Litanieis like a prayer and dance of our soul.

Maurice Duruflé composed Prélude et fugue sur le nom d’Alain, Op.7in 1942 in memory of his friend Jehan Alain. He adopted the thematic material from his name Alain by appointing pitches to each alphabet making up the name Alain.

Like Jehan Alain’s compositions, Grace EunHye Oh hope that we can dance altogether as a very meaningful and joyful dance that Transcends all the hardships of our life.